Saturday 11 April 2015

Poems For Peace

Friday, 10th April saw the launch of the "Poems For Peace" poetry anthology, edited by 2014 Fenland Poet Laureate, Poppy Kleiser.

The launch was held at the Wisbech and Fenland Museum, Wisbech. 

 Poets from across East Anglia contributed their poems to the anthology, which is prefaced by a thought-provoking foreword by the inspirational Benjamin Zephaniah. Many of them, including the photographer, came to Wisbech to read their poems and celebrate the launch with wine and words.

The following photographs are not masterpieces. They are not even the official photographs, which were taken by a much more able professional photographer. Hopefully, however, they provide a flavour of the evening (the town, the museum, the poets and the event).

 Where names of poets are known they have been added to the relevant photographs. J.S.Watts admits, however, that she does not know everybody's name and even when she does know a name, because she is notoriously bad with names, there is every chance that it is wrong or has been allocated to the wrong person. Humble apologies, therefore, precede the following photographs.

J.S.Watts, herself, is not present in the photographs as she does not admit to taking selfies.

 Poets visible in this photograph include: Benjamin Zephaniah, Elaine Ewart, Helen Pletts, Keely Mills, Pete Cardinal Cox.

 In the picture: Benjamin Zephaniah, Elaine Ewart, Gram Joel Davis, Jonathan Totman, Keely Mills, Martin Figura, Poppy Kleiser.

 Pictured: Benjamin Zephaniah, Kelly Mills, Martin Figura, Mike Alderson, Philip Dunkerley,

Pete Cardinal Cox in pensive mood

 The photographer photographed: Leanne Moden, Fenland Poet Laureate 2013.

Fenland Poet Laureates 2013 and 2014: Leanne Moden and Poppy Kleiser

NoBoDy (cover artist) in conversation with Pete Cardinal Cox

Philip Dunkerley and Mike Alderson

                                                                      Philip and Mrs Dunkerley
Book signing: Poppy Kleiser

 Martin Figura and Keely Mills (in the background Poppy Kleiser, Jacqueline Mulhallen and William Alderson)

Jonathan Totman, Fenland Poet Laureate 2015

 Benjamin Zephaniah in conversation.

 Visible right: Elaine Ewart (Fenland Poet Laureate 2012), Gram Joel Davies, JonathanTotman, Martin Figura.

Left: Elaine Ewart, Fenland Poet Laureate 2012

Poems For Peace (ISBN 9780956828231), edited by Poppy Kleiser, is a poetry anthology "inspired by the futility of war through the ages". With a foreword by Benjamin Zephaniah, it includes poems by: Alison Brackenbury, Anthony Smith, Daisy Thurston-Gent, Elaine Ewart, Gram Joel Davies, Helen Pletts, J.S.Watts, Jacqueline Mulhallen, James Knox Whittet, Jonathan Totman, Josh Bone, Keely Mills, Leanne Moden, Martin Figura, Mike Alderson, Mike Bannister, Nigel Hilliam, Nikki Marrone, Patrick Widdess, Paul Quant, Pete Cardinal Cox, Pete Irving, Philip Dunkerley, Poppy Kleiser, Rachel Rose Reid, Robin Shorey, Russell J. Turner, Samantha Weaver and William Alderson.